Michigan Beats Wisconsin for Big Ten Tournament Title.

The Michigan Wolverines (24-11, 10-8) took home the Big Ten Tournament title for the first time since 1998, beating the No. 24 Wisconsin Badgers (25-9, 12-6) 71-56 on Sunday afternoon in Washington D.C.

Derrick Walton Jr. had 22 points and seven assists for the maize and blue. D.J. Wilson had 17 points of his own as well as six rebounds.

Both teams kept it close for much of the first half, with the game tied 13-13 with 12:38 left.  However, the Wolverines started to build a lead and went up 30-20 with 5:26.  They kept the lead going into halftime, but the Badgers were able to cut into it and make it a one-point lead thanks to some clutch shooting by Nigel Hayes and Bronson Koening.

Michigan started the second half on an 11-4 run in the first eight and a half minutes.  With eight minutes left, the maize and blue had a 49-38 lead thanks to a three-point jumper by Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman.  As the game went on, the wolverines started to run away thanks to their three-point shooting. With the win, Michigan becomes the first team to win the Big Ten Tournament as the No. 8 seed.

The Wolverines shot 56.3% from field-goal range and 43.5% from three-point range.  Despite being out- rebounded 32-25, the team went 7 for 9 from the free-throw line.

With the Big Ten Tournament now officially over, both teams await to see who they will face in the NCAA Tournament. which starts on March 14.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.